APCRC-Q researchers receive a Metro South Health Research Support Scheme Grant

Congratulations to Dr Ian Vela, A/Prof Elizabeth Williams, Dr Patrick Thomas, and Dr Ben Shepherd who were awarded an Innovation (Seed) Grant of $25,000

The two-year grant will provide funding for their project entitled: ‘Do patients with high risk prostate cancer harbour viable gonorrhoeae diplococci in their prostate tissue?’

The announcement of the 2019 Metro South Health Board Chair Awards and the 2020 Research Support Scheme Grant recipients was held in the TRI Auditorium on Tuesday 19 November. The PA Foundation Research Awards were also announced at the annual event.

Almost 50 awards were presented on the evening totaling over $3 million in additional funding to support excellence in research that translates research discoveries into health and medical outcomes. The full list of recipients is available here.